Embracing Versatility

So there I was, catching up on my blog stalking for the week (more like month, but that’s details …) and I found myself perusing The $#!& I Think About, a delightful if not mildly disturbing collection from the mind and talents of my blog buddy Zen Assassin. Zen always has something interesting/funny/random to talk about, and so I follow his ramblings with great interest and great amusement. His was also one of the first blogs to grace my ‘Blogroll’ here at Faith and Stage Fright, and we’ve kept in touch by blog ever since.

Starting a blog for me was more than a little scary, and when one of my first readers/commenters calls himself something as cool as “Zen Assassin,” it’s hard not to be even more intimidated. But what I’ve found here at WordPress and in the online blogosphere in general is an overwhelming community of feedback and support that I wish I would’ve joined sooner. Zen, thanks for the support and encouragement. And for the random and funny comments and conversations. And, for this …

Turns out, Zen had recently been selected by a fellow blogger as a worthy recipient of The Versatile Blogger Award. “How cool,” I thought as I read through his post. “What a stud. It’s so nice when bloggers who kick ass get recognized by other bloggers. It’s like the best form of flattery ever … Well, maybe falling just a little behind that out-of-the-blue call from a big publisher that we’re all hoping for. Ahem”

Anyway, apparently part of being selected as a “Versatile Blogger” is passing on the honor to five other worthy and versatile (read: “random”) bloggers.

Oh Zen, you rock my world.

That’s right … My very first blogger-to-blogger honor. Right there!

I’m versatile! “You like me, you really like me!” (And thank you, for realsies).

Now as part of accepting said award, I also have some duties to fulfill:

  1. Post a link to the Versatile Blogger who gave you the award.
  2. Share seven things about yourself that are not widely known.
  3. Nominate at least five other bloggers.

1. I posted a link already in the first part of this post, but here it is again:  The $#!& I Think About. Thanks again to Zen Assassin, for being versatile (but always awesome!) and for thinking I’m versatile too!

2. OK, seven things about myself that aren’t widely known. I consider myself fairly open-bookish, so this could be a challenge, but here goes:

  • I am not a morning person. At all. The quickest way to earn yourself a spot on my personal shit list is to talk to me prior to 8 a.m. Even after coffee, I am just not a happy fun person until noon. I may try to put on a nice show, but inside I’m screaming at you.
  • A lot of people ask me how I can stand working with high school students. The truth is: I am way more intimidated by toddlers than teenagers.
  • I struggle with a mild case of obsessive-compulsive disorder. My husband has actually helped level out the crazy to some degree in recent years, but the OCD psycho still rears her ugly head from time to time.
  • I lived in Tucson for four years (Arizona for 12 years), but have never been to Mexico. Suck it, spring break!
  • I have Graves’ Disease … Which isn’t really as “grave” as it sounds (well, in some instances it can be, but I’m lucky because that’s not the case for me). It’s an autoimmune disorder that affects the thyroid gland.
  • I don’t shop at Walmart. I have ethical problems with their business practices. Among other things.
  • I don’t watch much TV, but I am completely enamored with the show “Psych.” I go to the gym (and I hate the gym) on Wednesday nights just to watch new episodes on the treadmill TV, because I also don’t have cable TV (or Dish, etc.) at home. I am even considering a trip to ComicCon next year, just for the Psych panel. (I’m not a geek, I swear, just a Psych-O!)
3) Last but not least, I need to nominate five other bloggers who are random enough to be versatile. Cheers to all of us and our bloggy versatility!

Thanks to all my Versatile Blog readers out there – I’ll be posting more random fun rambling soon!

“Life is the most versatile thing under the sun; and in the pursuit
of life and character the author who works in a groove works in blinkers.”
-Laurence Housman

9 thoughts on “Embracing Versatility

  1. Pingback: Fighting a War Within | Faith and Stage Fright

Leave a comment