My Foray into Geekdom

This could be me ... Say it isn't so!

Confession: I am a total geek. I just woke up one morning with that realization. I couldn’t fight it then, and I can’t deny it now.

How in the world did this happen?

Now some may say I’ve just been hiding my inner geek all along. I was in the band, after all, but I am a drummer so I think the coolness factor cancels out the nerd component. And I do indulge in the occasional chick-flick, but only with my chick friends. I would never force any guy buddies or my hubby to watch such cheesy crap.

I don’t play video games. I don’t own a pocket calculator (which is really too bad – I might be better with math if I was secure enough to carry one). And I have never, would never, under any circumstances, wear skinny jeans.

The geek-ness had to come from an outside source. Enter: My husband.

I love him dearly, but he is one of the biggest sci-fi geeks that I know. When we first started seeing each other, I was worried that we just didn’t have enough in common to make it work. He watched any and all Star Trek series, but had never seen the original Star Wars, whaaaaat?!?

His TV watching habits just didn’t match up with mine. I like documentaries and biographies, but he loves time travel and futuristic spacey-type shows. Now I’m all about the original Star Wars movies, Spaceballs (of course), and who doesn’t love Doc Brown and Marty McFly? But Stargate? Battlestar Galactica? Starship Troopers (worst.movie.EVER)? C’mon …

But somehow, I got sucked into his geekdom. And I remember exactly how it started. For that, I have my mother.

My mom and dad both enjoyed some sci-fi when we were growing up. Dad liked horror/action (think Aliens and Nightmare on Elm Street) and mom was more into the geeky genre (Star Trek et al.). None of their sci-fi preferences really stuck with me, with the exception of the above-mentioned Star Wars and Back to the Future. Those flicks were as geek as I got.

Fast-forward about 20 years. In 2009, a new Star Trek movie was released. I managed to whine my way out of having to see it in theaters (which has also been an effective tactic for avoiding the Harry Potter madness), but I couldn’t stop my husband from renting it soon after it came out on DVD.

And then, the unthinkable happened. I tried to avoid watching it, I really did. I think I even resorted to housework to occupy myself while it was playing. But I started to have flashbacks to all the horribly cheesy old episodes my mom had watched for years. I started to remember characters and back stories and bad special effects, and found myself appreciating the new film for all the tribute it paid to the old series. That’s when I realized: It had happened.

I was a geek.

I continued to live in denial for a while, but my husband caught on and began to completely exploit my weakness. I blame Netflix for being an accomplice. I love and hate that their service allows us to stream entire TV series from start to finish. Damn you, Netflix, for bringing Lost into my life.

As with Star Trek, I tried not to get interested. And I succeeded until about halfway through season 2. Then I found myself asking questions about plot pieces I’d missed. And that was it. I was hooked.

Now I’m on to USA’s Psych, which is hilarious and not too outwardly geeky. But then as I became a bigger fan of the show, I discovered that the cast participates in the annual San Diego Comic Con. One of my best friends and former college roommates is a huge geek and has attended this event several times before. I’ve never even been a little tempted to tag along … In fact, I make fun of her geek-loving ways all the time.

She has plans to go to San Diego for the event this summer. And now, for the first time ever, I’m jealous that she’s going to Comic Con and I’m not. Comic Con – Really!?!

My transformation to total geek is nearly complete. And I am at a loss here.

So how about it, dear readers? Are there shows you watch and things you do that put you in the closeted geek category? Any advice on how to come to terms with your inner geeky self?

Whenever I start to feel too geeky, I turn to Triumph the Insult Comic Dog’s exposé on Star Wars nerds.

And then I feel better about myself. 🙂

10 thoughts on “My Foray into Geekdom

  1. Pingback: Embracing Versatility « Faith and Stage Fright

  2. Pingback: The Geekery Online » The Vestige of the Carnival Geek in Modern Geekdom (Guest Author – Hat)

  3. I trump your geekiness to the max. I work for Godaddy and we endorse and have a booth at comicon to promote our mascot: toolzilla. I have transformers comics from the 80s and one of my favorite books is Enders game. #winning

  4. Pingback: My Foray into Geekdom « Faith and Stage Fright :: FreakyGeeky.com

  5. Congrats on becoming a geek.

    BTWE: I love Psych, and thought Starship Troopers was incredibly bad. (It played like a Nazi recruitment film, the military tactics were really inept, and I started rooting for the bugs halfway through. I did like the gratuitous nudity.)

    You do need to check out Firefly and Serenity. Both are classics.

    John

    • Starship Troopers was not the worst of all time people. Most people don’t realize it, but they made three films. Given the law of sequels, watching the other two will rob you of 4 hours of life you will never get back, but also show you just how bad a movie can be.

Leave a Reply

