Insert Obligatory New Year’s Post Here

Here we are in 2012 … Which is unbelievable really, because I don’t know where 2011 went.

But I guess that’s life.

I’ve been blogging now for almost a year. More than 80 posts and nearly 4,000 views later, I have to say it’s been a good thing. Fun to write, reflect, and get feedback from all you other awesome bloggers/blog readers out there.

But the winds of change, they are a’blowing.

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions … If they work for you, that’s fantastic, but they don’t really work for me. There’s no way to anticipate what the next year will bring, so I’ve always found it more useful to reflect on the lessons learned in the year past in preparation for whatever may come next. Goals are good, but resolutions, meh.

That being said, and upon reflection of last year, there are some pretty major changes coming my way.

Blogging has been a great outlet for me, and it’s allowed me a good platform to begin writing again. In 2012, I can see much more serious writing in my future. There are several things going on that have caused this: First being that I love to write, and want to write more. But the second more practical reason is a serious lack of funds. I’m a marginally employed teacher right now. And I love teaching, and still strongly feel like working with young people is my largest calling in life. But there are no teaching jobs open currently and the economy is taking its sweet time recovering, which means there are no openings in the foreseeable future, either.

And although I like substitute teaching as well as volunteering, frankly it just isn’t paying the bills.

So now I’ve expanded my search for employment back into the writing/publishing/journalism/communications field again … Not somewhere I expected to be going back to, but I’m not unhappy about it either. I love writing and editing, which is why this field was my first choice for a long time. And while I wait for something to come through (and I know something will eventually give), I’ve also started looking into the possibility of writing for a living.

Oh to dream, I know.

But hear me out. I don’t have aspirations of becoming rich and famous. But I want to have some of my work published this year. I think that’s totally doable. I’ve got a lot of material stacked up in my office that, with a little TLC and some creative marketing on my part, could very well make it out there.

This is what 2012 looks like so far.

That has some implications for this blog, though.

Don’t worry, I’m still going to blog here. I like it too much to give it up at this point. But here are some things that will be different in 2012:

  • No more Monday Morning Haiku. Because haiku is soooo 2011. But for the sake of still forcing myself to post at least once a week, I am making the transition to a Monday Morning Inspiration feature. The exact definition of what this will be is still up in the air, but you can be sure that something will be posted every Monday.
  • I’m planning to keep this blog mainly as a personal journal, which is basically no different than how I’ve approached it up to this point. However, I do have plans to begin another blog that’s more informational/journalistic in nature. I’ll post a link to that once it’s up and running, for those of you who want to blog stalk me there as well.
  • I’ve finally jumped on the Twitter bandwagon. Before you get too excited you should know I haven’t actually Tweeted yet, I’ve only just gotten signed up. Watch for a post on that soon too, as well as the little Twitter feed addition to this blog.
  • The jury is still out about how much “creative” material I will post here. I would like to tell you that I’ll still post some photos and poetry once in awhile, but some sites/publications have rules about having material in more than one place (even if I own said material). Stay tuned. Worst case scenario, I can at least post links here to my other stuff, which just means an extra click or two for you.

And so 2012 begins with a lot of uncertainty and some new prospects coming down the road. I’m nervous, but excited too. I feel like my life has been in a holding pattern for the last year or two, and that’s not been fun. Time to move on, even if it’s in an unexpected new direction.

Bring it, 2012.

“We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.” -Edith Lovejoy Pierce

10 thoughts on “Insert Obligatory New Year’s Post Here

  1. Pingback: Courageous Wait (Part II) « Faith and Stage Fright

  2. I think every page of the book is a new beginning, not just the new year’s day!

    Good luck to you my friend, who has been ever so supportive in my year of blogging too 🙂

    • You are absolutely right … Every day is like opening to a new, blank page.

      “Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:22-23)

      Thank you so much for your support and encouragement – And I look forward to reading more of your work this year as well!

  3. I, too, love the 2012 picture. That’s exactly how I feel about it, too.

    I’m so excited for your writing career! I have always harbored ambitions of publication, but I don’t think I have seriously considered writing for a living, though it has occurred to me to investigated freelancing. Up until now, I have felt rather unreliable just to myself as a writer, much less in a professional aspect. But your movement toward that realm has inspired me to write even more.

    I admire that you have been better about blogging than I was last year. I started my blog at the start of 2011, too, so happy blog birthday to us! Reading yours here is a great source of inspiration to me to keep my own up, and I really appreciate your comments.

    Happy 2012! I hope you realise and even exceed everything you set out to do this year! And I really like that quote by Ms. Pierce at the bottom, too.

    • Happy blog birthday to us! I’m so glad that we’ve been able to connect by blog this past year. Whenever you post something new I’m always excited to read it – So know that you have inspired me as well!

      In terms of taking the leap to write professionally, here’s an excerpt from another blog that really spoke to my heart about this. I hope it encourages you also. Cheers to a great 2012!
      ___

      “I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.

      Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something.

      So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life.

      Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it.

      Make your mistakes, next year and forever.” – Neil Gaiman

      (http://journal.neilgaiman.com/2011/12/my-new-year-wish.html)

Leave a Reply

