Stinky Like Banana

Now those are some stinky bananas!

Bananas are delicious and nutritious. They are versatile: You can add them to almost any dish at breakfast, lunch, or dinner. You can eat them solo. When they brown, you can mush them up into banana bread or make banana butter. Bananas are like the everyman of the fruit kingdom.

I like bananas. I especially like that I can take a banana anywhere for a low-maintenance, anytime snack. It isn’t sticky, juicy or messy like a lot of other fruits, and it comes in its own wrapper. Most people would agree that this is a good habit; healthy, simple, and affordable. There is only one problem.

Nothing stinks quite like banana.

I drive a lot: I live in Montana, and there’s a lot of space between, well, everything. I don’t leave home without a water bottle, snack, and snow boots. Turns out, a banana left alone too long in a vehicle starts to stink after a couple of hours. So does banana bread. So do banana peels.

Try as I might I cannot get the banana smell out of the truck … I think it has become a permanent feature of the interior. I can just picture the ad now: “Ford, good mileage, comes equipped with AC, power locks, and stinky banana scent. One of a kind!”

My closest group of girlfriends follows certain archetypes: There’s the smart one, the fashionable one, the cool one, and then there’s me. The stinky one.

I suppose there are worse things than reeking of banana. Reeking of cigarettes, whiskey, or McDonald’s, for example. I really should wear the stinky banana badge with pride. That’s right, society, I’m making responsible food choices! I believe in whole, organic, plant-based foods! Maybe my truck and I stink like bananas, but it’s a small price to pay for the sake of my health and waistline. I’m such a rebel.

What is that smell? I’m so glad you asked. It’s bananas.

7 thoughts on “Stinky Like Banana

  1. Pingback: Life is an Adventure « Faith and Stage Fright

  2. I thought it was just me! I eat a banana at work nearly every day and when I’m done, I get up and walk that peel to the garbage can furthest away from my office so I don’t have to smell it all day long. Great post!

  3. You have just identified one of the very specific reasons why I am not a fan of bananas. They manage to make everything smell like a garbage can. Not that I am saying you ever smell like a stinky pile of garbage – because you do not.

    I think it depends on who I am with, but for the most part I imagine I would be considered ‘the smart-ass’

Leave a Reply

